Rising textile designer is snapped up by retail giants

Her prints are quickly becoming the talk of the design scene and following her recent success at New Designers 2011, Laura Olivia has sealed a deal with retail giants Wilkinson’s and storming her way to success.

With her business barely 12 months old,  Laura wowed Wilkinson’s with her vibrant designs and is now creating a stationary collection to be in stores next summer.

Laura said, “they were clearly impressed with my work and we had a conversation about future opportunities. A while after the show they asked for some examples of work to figure out which projects they would like to work with me on and then came back to me with a brief to submit some initial ideas. They really liked my artwork and so I secured this amazing project!”

Columbine - Laura Olivia New Collection

Her business is barely 12 months old but has already designed for companies all over world, even as far as China. That said, the Nottingham based designer has never seen her products on the shelf, so this project really is something special. She told us, “to be able to walk in to a store that is just around the corner and see my work will be amazing! I know it will be a great moment when I finally see the finished product and will definitely motivate me.”

Zinnia - Laura Olivia New Collection

The burning question is “what will the new range look like!”  Well we asked just that, but unfortunately the brief is top secret and we’ll have to wait like everyone else. But Laura did reveal that she will also be designing a collection of kitchen textiles and dinnerware,  “It’s great that I’ve been given two completely different product areas. “

“They are both in styles that I have not worked in before, so it was fantastic to step out of my comfort zone and do something unexpected. One of them in particular I have been wanting to do for ages, so I was so excited when I got the brief, but can’t say anymore than that I’m afraid.”

Orchid - Laura Olivia New Collection

We can expect to see Laura’s products lining the shelves next summer, but in the mean time if yo want to see her other designs, just visit her website www.lauraolivia.com you will not be disappointed!

